top of page
  • Writer's pictureKrista

"Chemo Brain"

Nov 11th 2018 - If you haven't heard this term before .. trust me it's a thing! Google it, check out the definition of "chemo brain" (some of them are pretty funny).

I had never heard of this term before, until the nurses in the chemo suite joked around about having "chemo brain"..... really? What are you talking about?

Well let me tell you, after 4 rounds of chemotherapy treatment, I know exactly what they are talking about now. I've got it, I've got it bad.


Not to toot my own horn or anything but I do have to say I am one of those people with a great memory! I can recall dates, events, conversations etc. with no problem. (sorry to my future husband) I took pride in my memory! It's not always the best thing, but it sure does come in handy. ;)

But thanks to chemotherapy, my memory has become a crap shoot - honestly gone, poof, good bye. Ugh.


I'm finding myself writing a lot more lists these days to keep my chores straight and grocery shopping on point. Writing things down has become a must.

If I don't write it down, especially appointments, there is not a chance in hell I'm going to remember it.

I apologize to my family and friends now; for messages and phone calls I haven't responded to, really I don't remember half the time!

What's very scary with "chemo brain", I'll be mid conversation with someone and completely forget what I am talking about. What a dork. It's embarrassing when you are talking and you space off to try to remember where the conversation is going - the conversation YOU are having....


Also, not just "remembering" is affected, but so is my ability to find the right words to use in sentences, or words to describe something, or just the name of things in general. I don't know how many times I've used the phrase "what's the word again", or "I can't think of what I'm trying to say" - talking with my hands and acting like I'm playing charades is a daily thing.

I'm having a hard time adjusting with this part of the treatment.


And don't even get me started with … SQUIRREL.... yep, concentration, that too. Good bye for now old friend.


Now I've been told this is a temporary thing, that it comes with the territory of treatment - man I hope so. I'm kind of annoying to have a serious conversation with!!


Positive Note: It's only temporary and thank god the iPhone, has a "note" app. (which is very full)



245 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page