top of page
  • Writer's pictureKrista

I am woman - hear me roar!!

Nov 11th 2018 - On Oct 24th 2018 in Sarnia, I was invited to join an amazing group of women do a photo shoot. This was a very casual photo shoot at the Bluewater Health Dream Home on Lucas Ave in Sarnia with the "Your Local Girl Gang" ladies.

This group is made up of talented, inspiring, strong, independent women. These women lift each other up through the rough times and support each other during the hard times.

It was an honour to be around such an amazing group this evening. The best part, all these ladies are local and they have one common thought - Empower the Ladies.


I haven't been shy with anyone (including myself) that I have lost my hair during my treatment, and for the most part I've been wearing chemo caps and scarves, but tonight it was going to be different.

I felt completely accepted for who I am not what I looked like, I never had a doubt in my mind that if I did this photo shoot "bald" I wasn't going to feel out of place...I was still going to be Krista.


I did it. I lasted the whole evening au natural, I never felt so much confidence since the day I had to shave my head. These women made me feel great, made me feel strong and most of all they made me feel happy.

Of course I was scared at first... what was I thinking - these pictures were going to be used, the public was going to see them - but then I remembered - hair doesn't make me who I am. I reminded myself of those words, and I was going to prove it those words right!


The night was perfect; new friends, stories, laughs, and maybe a glass of wine.


This Christmas if you have plans to "shop local" please check out everything they have to offer; Knack Shop, Ace Ferguson, Black Cat Crochet Co, Olive Branch Studio, Huron Glass, The Grove Soap Co and so many more!!

You can catch them on Instagram (ylgg Canada), Facebook (Your Local Girl Gang) and their website (http://www.yourlocalgg.com/).

Your Local Girl Gang also offers services from the Sarnia area; to name only a few; Flora and Forage, Naughty Nutrition, and Sarnia Speaks


Also, if you even need a little inspiration in your life or want to witness self love in person; please check out the following Instagram profiles; girlmeetsweights, mizdaniellec and kaylaloganpr.


Below are only a few pictures that were taken that evening by Kirsten at Tiny Islands Photography.


Thank you to the all of you at Your Local Girl Gang for letting me be a part of such a heartwarming evening.









453 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page