top of page
  • Writer's pictureKrista

CT results after rounds 5 and 6

Oct 13th 2019 - This CT scan was somewhat of an important one; this one would determine if going back on the cisplatin drug would actually help. The first two rounds the scan came back "good enough", we changed to carboplatin for the next two rounds, didn't get the best results from the CT scan, so this scan after rounds 5 and 6 was going to be the tell all if this chemo drug had true response.

Between my last round of chemo, the CT scan and getting the results is when my oncologist at Bluewater Health in Sarnia had left and I had met my new oncologist in London at the LRCC, he would be the one giving me the results of the scan this time.

Usually it's about a week to get the results after the scan, but this time I waited a bit longer because I was in Ireland!! I really didn't mind having to wait the extra 2 weeks, because I knew I would be busy enough to keep myself occupied and not think of them.

On Oct 3rd 2019, I headed down to London with mom and dad to get the results and start talking about our next steps in my journey. (which I'll get to in another post)


Being back in London at the LRCC, brought back a lot of memories from when I was 16 years old dealing with Synovial Sarcoma, and I'm sure the same for mom and dad. The biggest memory we had was always waiting for the appointment... and surprise! nothing has changed... we waited and waited to be called in.

As per usual, I had brought my notebook and the two best listeners I could find ;), we were ready for whatever was going to be thrown at us today.

My sister Katelyn has always said "something good has to happen... I just know it" and I never doubt her; today I went in waiting for the good news.


The results of the scan came back, and what most might not consider the best news, I'm taking it as a positive.

During the last 2 rounds of chemotherapy treatment there was no growth of new nodules and the existing ones in both lungs didn't grow more then .1mm - THE CISPLATIN WAS WORKING!! Sure, like I've said before, I would love to be told "they're gone - all of them... I'm cancer free!!", but I know that's never going to happen, so why not look at this as a positive result, knowing it hasn't spread and it's being kept at bay.

We were all very happy with the results.


Now knowing the cisplatin and gemcitabine chemo cocktail seem to be responding, it's time to consider continuing with the treatment - or changing it to an oral chemo, that may not hurt my body as much.... the pressure is on yet again for big decisions to be made.

But this is all for my next post - stay tuned.


Positive Note: We seem to have something that is responding to the cancer and my body isn't rejecting it. Onwards we go...




1,935 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page