top of page
  • Writer's pictureKrista

Post Chemo Round 6

Dec 31st 2018 - I had high hopes for this round to go smoothly, unfortunately it didn't go as planned. The first round of this cocktail I was knocked out for a week, the second I was out for 3 days, but this third (and last) round took me down for a week again. I'm assuming it's because of the extra dosage I received and my body reacted in the worst possible way. I was achy in my legs yet again, with pain that throbbed from the hips down to my feet more then half the time - it seemed walking, standing or laying down didn't help, I just had to live with it. I was lightheaded, dizzy and very tired to boot - I was just spent for the week.

My bed had become a good friend this week, I couldn't seem to get enough rest. I knew I had to get as much as I could so I would be able to enjoy the holiday season.


The same ol' same ol' was happening as well; taste buds were gone, the sensations were altered and my appetite has been so so for the first week.

Something that is different this time, and still remains; my fingernails are very sensitive, they are tender to the touch and I get the feeling they are ready to fall off... just all around yuck.

This was a side effect of the last three treatments I was receiving, but didn't notice anything until the last round. I'm hoping this won't be a permanent thing and it goes away sooner rather then later.


But again, even though I have all these side effects happening, I still know it could be a lot worse. I have to admit I've been pretty lucky, especially if I compare this time to when I was 16 years old - a lot has changed.


The big question that's been on my mind (and my family's) when will me hair start to grow back? I know the chemotherapy takes 3 weeks (21 days) to leave the body, and with no more "poison" going back into my system, I'm hoping in the next month or so I'll see something happening. The hair that stayed in tact on my head is so short and very fine that it's impossible to tell right now.

I'm excited to start seeing something grow back - when hair grows back it can come in different colours then before and it can come back curly! When it came back at the age of 16, it came back dirty blond and curly - once it got to a certain length it straightened out and became lighter in colour; this is going to be a long waiting game!


It's been just about 3 weeks since my last treatment; even though I wasn't feeling the best for the first 10 days; overall I'm feeling great now. Still a bit tired, but again it comes with the territory.


Even though I was down a lot longer this round, I was able to enjoy all the Christmas festivities; I just had to take everything a bit slower and listen to my body - when it was time to rest, it was time to rest. Of course, with my family being so amazing and understanding, it was a lot easier to relax about how I was feeling.


Today is New Years Eve and I am ready to have 2018 behind me, the first half of my treatment in the past.

I'll start next year off with the 2nd part of treatment (surgery) get that done right away, followed by the 3rd part of treatment, radiation. The first half of the year is going to be a busy one but 2019 is going to be a better year, I know it.


Positive Note: I was able to enjoy the holiday season with family and friends without any issues. I finished the worst part of treatment in 2018 and will start 2019 off on a positive note.



321 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page