top of page
  • Writer's pictureKrista

Chemo Round 2

Sept 17th 2018 - it's CHEMO DAY!!!! No, really I was not that excited for the day. However I was ready to get round 2 done and over with.

I started the morning off with a coffee on the front porch, positive vibes and positive thoughts.

I had blood work done on Sept 13th 2018, and my "counts" were too low to actually do chemo today (I was at 1.4, you need to be at 1.5). So this morning at 815am I headed back to the lab to get bloodwork done again, after waiting 45 min in the oh so lovely Bluewater heath atrium, I was good to go. My counts came back at 1.6 - woo hoo; lets get on with the show.

This time I had more confidence going to the chemo suite at Bluewater Health, sure I was still not happy with it, but there was no "Fear of the unknown" anymore - I knew what I was in for today.

Of course I was still a bit scared, not of the chemotherapy, but what the chemotherapy was going to do to my body this time. I felt like a champ after round 1, but what about this round? or the next 4? I don't want to feel sick and/or tired, I'm hoping all goes well again.

Today Drew and Brittany were my A-team, they sat with me and kept me entertained until I was ready to go home. There isn't too much to do while you are sitting there, but any little bit of company helps. Just knowing I'm not there alone makes everything that much better, I know that if I were to have a "moment" I would be shown love and support right away.

I also had a visit from a dear friend - Mary. She is also a breast cancer survivor, she has been a great help to me through this journey.


I had the same treatment today as round 1, 4 syringes (3 of one drug and 1 of another) and then the IV drip drug. I was a little late applying the freezing cream to the access port in my chest, so I felt a bit more of a poke today (ya know, when the nurse rams a railroad tie sized needle in your chest you tend to tense a little!!).

The nurses yet again are amazing, and I'm starting to get a good connection with them - they are so good at remembering who you are, not just as a patient, but as a person.

After everything is administered and all the IV drips are done, I'm ready to go home... not too bad of a morning, the ball was rolling and I was out of there by 1230pm. No complaints.

Of course I'm stocked up with my anti-nausea pills (praise the lord) and my Nulasta shot to keep my white blood counts up.


Today wasn't a bad day for me, however a little more emotional for others. This was Drew's first experience with the whole hospital thing - really he had no idea what he was getting into. Britt, she's a champ, she's done this with me before. This is one of the only times Drew has shown his true emotions with me about my diagnosis. During the first few syringes, he told me he didn't like it, that he felt horrible for me and that he couldn't handle seeing the chemotherapy going into my body. He was hurting for me. I assured him all was okay and that I was fine, I don't feel it and not to worry, I've got this I can't handle it - promise. Of course I had to crack a joke and told him to "man up"... :)


I was told by a very wise person; "you don't just have cancer, so does your family". of course I understood what she was saying, but it took today to realize she was 100% right. It affects me for sure, but it also affects everyone around me, just in different ways.


Let's see how my body handles round 2, I just hope all stays on schedule for the next round in 3 weeks.

Positive Note: I'm already finish round 2, only 4 more to go!!


716 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page