top of page
  • Writer's pictureKrista

Chemo Rounds 3 and 4

July 24th 2019 - After the last two rounds of chemo and how hard they hit my body we've decided to change up the treatment "cocktail". For these two rounds I will be getting Carboplatin instead of Cisplatin, a sister drug if you will.

This drug will be easier on my body, with the same effects. This drug is usually used on seniors because it's gentler - I'll be taking it because of how much chemo my body has had over the past year and when I was 16 years old.


Round three of treatment didn't start out as planned. I had my blood work done on June 5th 2019, and it showed my counts were low. Not low enough that I won't be able to get treatment on Friday.

On June 7th 2019 at Bluewater Health Sarnia, I receive my first blood transfusion throughout my journey, in the chemo suite after treatment.

I have to admit, I'm not and never have been a fan of blood transfusions, it's all mind over matter I know, but it's just an "icky" feeling knowing you have "strange" blood being put into your body. When I was 16 yrs old I had a few transfusions and had the same thoughts - I guess some things will never change! I know however, this is the best thing for me - having the transfusion will help me feel a lot better; I won't be as tired and lethargic and maybe my appetite will come back!!


I start treatment off with the typical anti nausea drugs and steroids, both oral and by IV, followed by the Gemcitabine drug. After the first drug I am given a saline flush and start up the new drug Carboplatin. This treatment schedule takes me about 4 hours - I'm not to worried about it, I got my chair ;), home sweet home.

After treatment comes the blood - on we go with the transfusion.

The day is over and I wait for day 8 of the cycle to come around.


June 14th 2019 has arrived and my blood work is done. Results come back and I am good to go (that blood transfusion really helped!). Today is my "short" day for treatment as I call it. I only receive the Gemcitabine drug, complete with the anti nausea drug and steroid pills.

Not to brag or anything, but I handle this day like a champ! Bring it on.

Round 3 is done and behind me.


Up next round 4! Time seems to be flying by, in just 3 weeks I will be doing another CT scan, of course keeping my fingers crossed.

June 26th 2019, bloodwork is done again, as it is the start of every round. Surprise surprise my counts are low and my blood is very low. Too low in fact to do any sort of treatment on Friday, my levels are so low that it would actually be dangerous for me. It's decided that we will be delaying treatment a week and doing a blood transfusion instead this coming Friday.

Damn - another transfusion... my favourite.

This time, my blood is so low I will be receiving 2 units of blood, which each bag takes 2 hours to drip through....ugh.

June 28th 2019, I tell myself; "I've donated blood, this is just my blood going into my body!" Still working on the mind over matter thing.

I get through it, 5 hours later I'm on my way home ready to have the week off and let me body recharge.

Thank you to anyone and everyone who have donated blood. You don't understand how grateful I am for your contribution. It's such a selfless act that helps so many, including myself.


Round 4 of chemotherapy officially starts July 5th 2019, day 8 lands on July 12th 2019 - I receive the planned treatment cocktail on both of those days with no problem. I get through the "long day" and "short day" of being at the chemo suite at Bluewater Health in Sarnia. The nurses still making it easy for my to go in there and receive treatment - I don't know what I would do without them and how wonderful they are!


Positive Note: Even though I do not care for the blood transfusions, they do make me feel better and we are able to get through the treatment plan. 2 more rounds completed.


870 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page