top of page
  • Writer's pictureKrista

First Chemo Treatment

Updated: Sep 2, 2018

Aug 27th 2018, the dreaded first day of chemotherapy. The day all my emotions have come to a head and are ready to explode; I'm scared of course again, but I am so mad and angry, just right pissed off. Again, why? I'll never know.

The day I've been hoping would never actually come, but it's time, it's time to start the ass kicking of this god forsaken disease like it deserves. My appointment is at 945am to discuss treatment drugs and start the chemotherapy. I know I have a ton of support behind me, more then anyone could ever expect - I know I am going to get through this.


The Tumor Board has decided my treatment will consist of 2 types of chemo drugs; 1 for 3 rounds and the next for 3 more rounds, so a total of 6 rounds of chemotherapy.

The cocktail as they like to call it is called; F-E-C D.

This is a Canadian made combination of drugs that has a great response to the breast cancer I have.


Starting today I will get my first round, in 21 days I'll be back to receive the next and so on from there - every 3 weeks until Dec 31st, if all goes as planned.

All my treatments are being done in Sarnia which makes it so much easier on myself and my support system. The last time I had treatments done I was admitted to London Sick Kids Hospital.


Day one is a long day - a lot of information I have to take in before we actually start the treatment. I'm told about the drugs and all their side effects (let me tell you the list goes on and on), the medication (3 types of anti nausea pills) I have to take pre and post chemo, as well about the shot I will receive to keep my white blood counts up.

This seems like a lot of course, but I'll do anything to keep the nausea at bay. Trust me, that part was never fun last time.


The nurses at the chemo suite are amazing, and so patient - I have the utmost respect for this floor.

I have to receive 4 large syringes of drugs, that have to be administered slowly by hand into the chemo port, and then one bag that will drip through an IV. By 2:00pm I'm finally free.

I'm finished day 1 of this upcoming long journey.


After I get home and rested back into place, I'm felling fine - so far so good. I haven't felt anything abnormal yet. As long as I stay on track with the anti nausea pills for the next 3 days I should be okay. Fingers crossed.


Positive Note: Instead of getting 8-12 shots for my white blood counts to stay up, I find out my benefits cover the 1 shot instead. I also get successful funding through the Victory program to cover remaining costs. 1 shot instead of 8-12, I'll take it!




946 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page