top of page
  • Writer's pictureKrista

Radiation

Sept 6th 2018, I had my Radiation Consultation with the doctor. Back to my old stomping grounds; London Regional Cancer Center at Victoria Hospital. As soon as I stepped through the doors, the flood gates full of memories opened wide; good, bad and some just so damn funny I actually laughed to myself.

They even had pulled my file from before - my file from 17 years ago!!! Holy crap that thing was full!!

Best part of the appointment - MORE PAPERWORK (ugh!)


This appointment was just for a consultation, I didn't get the full 100% treatment plan, but I got a sneak peak I guess you could say.


As of right now, I have been told I will be receiving 5-6 weeks of radiation treatment. This will all be done in London at the LRCC, on a daily basis Monday through Friday. I get weekends off - yippeeee!

The treatment will be decided on 2-3 weeks after my surgery; but as of right now it'll just consists on radiation to my left breast directly on the area where the lump is. The talk about treating my lymph nodes (if needed) will be discussed later.

Because the lump is on my left side we will have to be careful the radiation stays a good distance away from my heart - there could be the possibility a small piece of my heart could be affected, but again something to chat about closer to the time.


The doctor would like to make sure I start treatment 4-6 weeks max after surgery date. Once we have the complete pathology report, I will have a ton more answers.


Positive Note: I know the LRCC like the back of my hand and I already admire my Radiation doctor!



507 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page