top of page
  • Writer's pictureKrista

Upcoming Surgery

Feb 1st 2019 - My surgery is Jan 10th 2019, right at the start of the New Year. Of course my resolution wasn't anything different from the past 6 months - beat cancer, again. The surgery is the nest step in my treatment plan.

I have a few appointments before Jan 10th to take care of first.

On Dec 14th I headed down to London's University Hospital for the pre-admit appointment, accompanied with Drew, we sat in the room with a nurse who explained all the steps of the procedure that would happen throughout that day. I was given a booklet of all the "do's and don'ts" and a "breast buddy pillow" (this ends up being a miracle gift from the hospital!). Again, the reminder of how much I hate needles came about when they had to take blood. I have to admit, it was a bit funny to see them worry a bit when they realized how low my blood counts were - I guess no one documented that I had just received chemo on Wednesday! I assured them I was fine and explained the situation... onwards with the surgery plan.


The next appointment was one I was dreading since I had been told of it by the oncology surgeon. Jan 9th 2019 I had to head to University Hospital again to receive contrast by an injection. Now, I've had contrast injections multiple times for MRI's, CT scans and bone scans - but let me tell you I have never had to receiving contrast by injection in my NIPPLE!!! Yes, you read that right, the nipple.

I was told this would highly sting and it won't feel good at all...no sugar coating it.

Let me explain why this is happening….

During surgery I will be having a Lymph Node biopsy as well, the contrast will highlight the lymph nodes helping the Dr. find the area in the armpit. the only way to get the contrast to the lymph nodes will be through the nipple (areola), just slightly under the skin. The contrast will last in my system for approx. 5 days.


It was time. I don't even know how to explain how nervous I was while I was laying on the table knowing what was going to happen, I think I was more nervous for this procedure then I was the surgery at that point in time.

The nurse was great... of course she tells me what I already know - it's going to hurt and sting a lot. Ugh. Let's just get it done.

Well SHIT, they did not lie at all... this stung like a bitch. Honestly take a million bee stings join them with a cat scratch on a sunburn and place it on the most sensitive skin... OMG!! I just can't even. Usually I can tough most things out, my pain tolerance is pretty high, but this brought tears to my eyes.

Two needles later it was over....Now that, that is over it was time to start dwelling on the surgery the next day.


Because I had to be back at University Hospital in London at 6 am; Mom, Dad and I decide to stay the night in London.

Of course we had a couple hours to kill, so why not do some "window" shopping (and a bit more) and dinner.


The hardest part of the day was getting to bed that night. I mean sure, I was exhausted from such a long day, both mentally and physically... but I just couldn't get the proper rest needed. I guess I figured it I didn't get to sleep I wouldn't have to wake up and it would be Jan 10th...surgery day.

It was inevitable, I feel asleep and woke up when my 445am alarm when off.... it was Jan 10th 2019.


Positive Note: Even though I was nervous and scared for the injections, I was able to get it done and it was over before I knew it. I was already done the first step of the surgery.






240 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page