top of page
  • Writer's pictureKrista

Facebook Live

Mar 22nd 2019 - On March 3rd 2019 I did a Facebook Live session, giving an update on how I was doing and answering questions anyone had. There was a great turn out, a lot of love and support was pouring in.

I know not everyone was able to join; so this post is to repeat the questions I was asked that evening with the answers!

Thank you to everyone who tuned in - I promise you there will be another Facebook Live Q&A.


In no particular order here are the questions and answers.


1). During radiation are you able to wash the skin?

- Yes, I am able to wash the skin. As the radiation treatments continue the skin will

become sensitive and sore, I'll just have to be careful.


2). Are you seeing a counsellor in London at the Hospital?

- I have talked to a counsellor in London involved with the London Regional Cancer

Centre. This counsellor listens to my thoughts, worries and fears about my cancer

journey.


3). Who did your surgery?

- Dr. S. Latasinksy preformed the Sentinel Node Biopsy and the Mastectomy of the left

breast. Dr. B. Evans preformed the DIEP Flap surgery (reconstruction) involving the

tummy and breast.


4). Because of the DIEP and radiation, will the breast always be hard?

- Right now the tissues used to reconstruct the breast has become hard and will

continue to do so until radiation is complete. The tissue itself will soften over time,

however there could be a chance I would have to go back into the OR to remove the

hard tissues in the left breast if not softened in 8months - a year.


5). Does oral chemo affect the throat and/or mouth (sores/burns)?

- With any chemotherapy there is a chance for mouth sores, they don't see any different

with this one. It is a side effect but not one that showed up for me during the past

rounds of chemo. Because this is my first time with oral chemo, I can't 100% answer

this one, yet.


6). How often will they monitor bloodwork when on chemo?

- I can't see this being any different from the first rounds of chemo, I'm not exactly sure

but I would say every 3 weeks to a month.


7). Is your belly sore from surgery?

- Actually, no. I haven't had any pain from the surgery since 2 weeks post surgery - I've

been very lucky. There still is sensitivity from the incision, but nothing painfull.


8). Is there a "Go Fund me Page"?

- No there is not.


9). What can we do to help make it easier for you?

- Just keep being you!! Sending your love and your support and reaching out knowing

everyone cares is enough. Knowing I have an army out there cheering me on, makes it

that much easier.


10). Do you have an appetite?

- My lord yes, my appetite has come back with full force. I have been able to eat

anything and everything!


11). Financial is there anything you need to relieve stress?

- Having the benefit was a huge help to me to get through bills that have to be paid

monthly. My mortgage, insurance and some utility bill were able to be paid for the

year. That was a huge amount of stress lifted off my shoulders.


12). Does the government support you during treatments?

- No, this is a very hard no. Having gone through this illness twice now, the government

has never supported myself or nor other patients, financially. Actually OHIP doesn't

cover a lot of the drugs that cancer patients have to take. Thank goodness I have

work benefits and a disability plan to help me out. It's not a lot by all means, but it's

something, and I have to be lucky with what I do get.


13). Why don't they radiate the spots found on your lung?

-Because the "C" word hasn't been used yet we can't radiate on such a vital organ not

knowing. In the future if it's found out to be more then just a "couple of spots" it could

be a possibility down the road.


14). Would massaging assist to help with the hardening of the breast?

- This is a natural side effect of radiation right after reconstruction, unfortunately nothing

with help with the hardening, it'll just have to soften on it's own.


15). Is your family getting tested?

- Yes and no. Because I had genetic testing and it came back that the genes are not

passed through the family, it's just something my body has developed, my family is

safe. In saying that anything is possible - so my sisters have been advised to start

mammograms early and get involved with the Ontario Breast Screening Program.


16). Is your hair coming back? Do you think it'll be curly?

- My hair IS coming back :) Of course this doesn't happen over night, but it's coming

back for sure. Eyelashes, eyebrows are too!

No sign of curls yet, but you never know!


17). What will be your next tattoo?

- Anyone that knows me, knows I don't mind a tattoo now and then. It'll probably be

something about this journey; saying, words symbol? Who knows, but it'll happen for

sure.


18). Are you still massaging your incisions/scars?

- Yes, I've been using Bio-Oil on the incisions to reduce the look of the scars. Also this

helps with scar tissue detach from the muscles. This is done daily.


19). When do you get to remove your port?

- Well unfortunately, my oncologist wants me to keep the port until I am done the

second bout of chemotherapy. This won't be looked into until the fall again. Not the

answer I wanted but I have to do what the doctors say.







401 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page