top of page
  • Writer's pictureKrista

Feeling Tired.

The past couple weeks since my first round of chemo, haven't been too bad. I was great for the second week, but near the end and defiantly into the third week it got a lot harder. A few of the side effects started to kick in; but surprise - still no nausea!!! I found myself getting very tired very easily during the day, which resulted in a lot of napping. If there is one thing I don't believe in, is napping - why waste such a good day sleeping!!! It was a big adjustment for me. This is because my white blood cells are low in my body right now, which makes it hard for your body to fight anything off, therefor you get tired a lot easier. And I have to be careful with where I go and who I am with, so I don't get sick - seeing as I may not be able to fight off an infection.


I had a small "mouth sore" develop on the inside of my right check, but with great oral care and being consistent I managed to get rid of it before my next round of chemotherapy.


I did still have an appetite the past couple weeks up until the end of the 3 week (day 18 / 19 / 20), I started to lose that hungry feeling. But good news, my taste buds started to reappear and I could taste a bit more again!!


The big one that effected me this past week; hair loss. On day 15, Sept 10th 2018 I started to see my hair falling out. I will have a sperate blog post on this side effect.


That aside, I'm still having a good reaction to the treatment thus far. I have still been able to get out and have "girls night", head to IKEA, window shop a bit, visit with friends and most important, I've still been able to hang out with; Levi, Arlynn and Lucas - still being the best Aunt I can be to those 3.

I've had an outpouring of love and support through messages and visits, I can't thank everyone enough.


I know I can't expect everything to be perfect from here on out, I still have 5 more rounds of treatment to go. I know every round I could feel a lot different then the one before, but I'm not going to think about that right now. I'm going to take it day by day and see one I feel then - there is no point wasting my energy and worrying about the "what's coming" rather I'll be using my energy to get the present day!


I'm going to keep myself as busy as I can, but also I'll have to remember to listen to my body when it's telling me something isn't right. (I take after my dad, stubborn as hell)


Right now, cancer hasn't stopped me from living day to day and as long as I'm in control it's not going to.


Positive Note: Side effects have been minimal for the first round. I have the most amazing friends any girl could ask for.



658 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page