top of page
  • Writer's pictureKrista

Genetic Testing Results

Dec 8th 2018 - Back in July 2018 I was sent to London to receive genetic testing. Being a women under the age of 40 with breast cancer, allows me to get the testing done at no charge. I did have to have a referral by a doctor, but that wasn't a problem - all of them were on board with this idea.

The testing will let me know if I am a carrier of the breast cancer gene (BRCA1, BRCA2) or if I carry the ovarian cancer gene. Having this testing done will allow my to plan for the future, pretty much it'll give me a heads up for any possibilities to develop breast cancer again or any other cancer associated with breast cancer. Now, let me rephrase that - this will not detect EVERY cancer I may be able to develop in my lifetime, only the ones that are tested within the 23 genes that they know of in regards to breast cancer. Even though genetic testing is a god sent to answers, it doesn't have them al


The most important reason I agreed to having my genetic testing done; Brittany and Katelyn, my sisters. This will help them as well and prepare them for anything their future may hold and to take the action now to prevent the worst. I would hate myself if I didn't go through with the testing and something ever happened to them - I needed to do this, as their big sister and as their protector. They don't deserve any of this horrible disease and if I can help with that, no questions asked.


The genetic testing will give me 3 of the following results;

1) Positive carrier of the breast cancer gene (or ovarian).

- this means everyone in my family (including men) may carry this gene and there is a

very good chance they will (and myself again) will develop breast cancer in their

lifetime. There are preventative measures that SHOULD be taking from here.


2) Negative carrier of the breast cancer gene (or ovarian).

- this means I am not a carrier of the breast cancer gene and there was just a mutation of

my genes and they developed into breast cancer. I was tested for 23 genes associated

with breast cancer and they are all negative. So, in my words - I just got "luck of the

draw"


3) Inconclusive results.

- this is one of the results you really don't want to get as per the genetic counsellor, at

least it's not desired because it doesn't give you all the answers you are looking for, it's

inconclusive for a reason. The body doesn't have enough information to give and they

don't have the 100% yes or no answer if something will develop again. From here they

use a computer programme to give you a "reoccurrence rate" based on person history

and family history, past and present.


A few months ago I received my results from my genetic testing.

Inconclusive.

Ughhhhhhhh - WHY!? What is wrong with my body, why does it hate me!! The response I was hoping not to get - answers would have been wonderful at this point in my life.

honestly, it seems like it's a meant to be, maybe I was meant to have the hardest time finding answers because I can handle it, because I've got the greatest support system ever, maybe because I've done this once and I'm damn well going to be able to get through this again, or just maybe I'm not meant to know, this is my life - it may not be fair, but it's what I've been dealt.


It's not all bad news I guess, I've found out I am not a positive carrier of the breast cancer gene, which means my family doesn't have it as well, my sisters are going to be okay based on the gene.

This just means they will have to start their breast cancer screening earlier, now they will have to take more precaution towards this horrible disease at a younger age.


For me, it means the same thing I'll have to still keep an eye out for anything that may develop in the future and take the proper steps protect myself.




452 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page