top of page
  • Writer's pictureKrista

It's back.

July 18th, 2018 - this was the day I sat in the doctors office trying to stay calm after hearing the biopsy of the lump in my left breast had comeback positive for cancer cells. It's back.

I had been official diagnosed with Breast Cancer.


A little back story before this day; I found the lump myself, contacted my doctor, went for mammogram and ultra sound, was called back for retesting and a biopsy right away. I knew this couldn't be good when I heard the word biopsy. Within 4 weeks from finding the lump I had my answer.


This is another day etched into my memory forever, I can't explain the emotion I felt as I sat there alone in the doctors office, with my mom on speaker phone getting me through this traumatic news. I was upset, sad, scared, confused, but most of all, I was mad, angry. Why, why again? How can someone by the age of 32, be diagnosed not only once with cancer, but a second time. I've asked myself time and time again, what have I done to deserve this, why does my body hate me so much, why does this have to be my life? These will be the questions that will always stay unanswered.


After relaying the news to my family the same evening, it was a state of shock to everyone - and surprise, surprise the same questions came up that I have.

I reassured everyone that I wasn't going anywhere, that this was going to be "my fight; round 2" and I am damn well going to get through this one too. I have to much ahead of me to look forward to in my life (Levi, Arlynn and Lucas are my number ones in this whole thought) - I was and I am going to stay strong.


Positive note: I've detected it early.



1,070 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page