top of page
  • Writer's pictureKrista

Hard times yet again

Updated: Aug 31, 2018

As most of you know, majority of the harshest chemotherapy drugs will cause hair loss; well guess what.. it's going to happen to me again. When I went through treatments 17 years ago, I lost my hair then too. Now, I do have to admit, at the age of 16yrs being a female, you feel like you are no one without your hair. You've become a monster, you've lost everything, your confidence is gone. This was the scariest thing I thought I would have to do during my journey, and I was right.

Once I started to lose my hair I had my mom cut all my hair short in our family bathroom - it was both hard for her and myself; a lot of tears.

This time it was going to be different; I'm in control this time, I'm making the decisions, I'm running the show.

Aug 8th 2018, I decided to cut my hair short again. It wasn't any easier to do, trust me, but I needed to do it. I had my greatest supporters with me that day, my sisters Brittany and Katelyn, who never seize to amaze me.


As a cancer survivor I have donated my hair 4 times for wigs to be made, it felt like something I had to do after my first bout with cancer seeing as I had a wig made for me.


But things change over 17 years; I've decided this time there will be no wig, there will be no hiding - I'm going to be me, and if you don't like it, too bad, don't look my way.

I will be wearing scarves and chemo caps, but don't be surprised by my "au natural look" every once in a while.


Positive Note: Hair will always grow back


938 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page