top of page
  • Writer's pictureKrista

Post Chemo Round 3

October 16th 2018 - I'd love to say I had a good week since Oct 9th 2018, but I can't say so, the chemotherapy this time has hit me the hardest yet. Just today I'm finally having a "better" day (hence all the blog posts), a week post chemo.

After chemo on Tuesday I was very tired right after chemo but I managed to cut the grass and get out during the day and enjoy the beautiful sunshine. By the time night time came around it was a different story. Because of the steroids they give me pre chemo, I was always warned I might not sleep for the next 24-48 hours properly; well this time it hit me.

Tuesday night I tried to go to sleep, but I was up until 5:20am... when I finally felt the need to call it a "day".

Didn't last long though, I was up at 7:15am ready to go for the day.

I did manage to walk to the Farmer's Market for Mr. Levi's class trip, thankfully it was a short walk and a short visit.


The next day however and all I wanted to do was sleep. Actually that's been all I've been doing for the week. I felt very weak and useless. I felt like I was wasting a lot of precious time laying around all day...but I had no choice. I've had to give into my body this week.

Not only physically was I spent, but mentally it was starting to take a toll too.

I wasn't feeling like myself at all this week, I was ready to cry at any given moment, ready to give in and feel sorry for myself. I felt like I was ready to give up.

These feeling started to haunt me... give up? Me? No this can't be right - what the heck was going on?


I had no energy to go out, leave the house or even get out of bed. I mean, you know when you go for a "quick nap" and wake up 12.5 hours later... somethings up.

Sleeping has become my best friend.

It may sound crazy, but I'm a firm believer that animals know when something is up and they are meant to comfort... that's what's been going on this week. My pooch; Roara and cats; Purrcy and Rewka have become my cuddle buddies. Thankful for the unconditional love from a animal.


I've done the best I could do still be able to keep it together for Levi, Arlynn and Lucas; a visit from them still will always make my day. Their laughter is so contagious, a child will never know.

Still the chemotherapy had won this week.


Positive Note: Still kept up on my anti-nausea medication, which helped this week and my Nulasta shot, that will keep my counts up as best as it can.







363 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page