top of page
  • Writer's pictureKrista

Post Surgery

**pictures included show the good, bad and the ugly - please be open minded**

Feb 2nd 2019 - It's been three weeks on Jan 31st 2019 since my surgery date. It feels just like yesterday that I was heading into the operating room to have the biggest surgery of my life yet. This cancer crap has put me through the ringer and threw a lot at me, but I'd like to think that I keep my head held high and throw it right back at it.

The first week of being home was hard; I wasn't able to fully move around and my daily functions were disturbed, but I managed. I had great help from my parents, sisters and Drew throughout the week and they made me feel very comfortable, they were my go to people for anything I needed.

Because of the invasive surgery in my belly, I'm not able to use those muscles for 6 weeks... it's been hard, because everything you do almost involves your core muscles, I have to slow myself down majority of the time - you just don't think of it.


The part I didn't like the most was not being able to spend my time with Levi, Arlynn and Lucas the same way I once did. I'm not allowed to pick them up and I have to be careful with doing certain activities...play time is a bit more relaxed.

And I hate the fact that all three of them know Aunt Krista has a really big boo boo and they have to becareful… poor kiddos, they just don't get it.


For 11 days straight I was cooped up in my house, unable to drive for a couple weeks and not wanting to chance the winter elements, I was staying put. You really don't realise how much you have/want to do around the house until you can't do anything....bummer.

The first week I slept on the couch, it was easier to get off and on of, missing my bed and the comfort of sleeping on either of my sides... it was all "back sleeping" for a good 2 weeks.

I told myself daily that I wasn't going to milk this... I was going to get back on my feet and be myself as soon as I could. Like the doctor told me, "you aren't sick, you had surgery - you need to move" and dammit I was going to move.

Everyday I would sit up, as straight as I could, and take a walk around the house. I had yet to practice the stairs, but they would soon come.


Week 2, finally moving to my bed - still having to take it slow getting in and out, but I was getting stronger. I was sitting up as straight as a bored and walking around with no problems.. I managed to walk by myself to mom and dads house (not that it is very far...) - I'd like to point out, that walking to mom and dads got me out of the house!! Woo Hoo… hello world.


Every other day I was visited by the VON nurse who would come change my dressings on the incisions and check the 3 drainage tubes I came home with. Within the first 5 days I had all 3 drainage tubes removed - relief...not having those dangling around my hips and armpit was amazing!

Unfortunately, the incisions near the breast where the drainage tube was, wouldn't heal over just yet, and I was gauzing the site for a full week after, changing the dressing twice a day due to the drainage of old blood coming out. The two near the belly were just fine and didn't cause me any problems.


Off topic a bit, but I have to mention this because I made my mother eat her own words!! It took me a good few days to notice after the bandages were being changed... but my tattoo on my hip is no longer, it's actually gone, bye bye, so long ink.

And my mom said "omg, don't you realize those things are permanent"!!...jokes on her... it's gone! Muuuwhahah

Also....because my belly button had to be replaced on my belly, I lost the piercing I had there.

I must be getting older because I don't mind that I lost a tattoo and a piercing.. 33 is maturing me :)


Because the incisions were "sealed" up with internal stiches and glue there was very little, if any drainage around them - I was able to remove the bandages after 2 weeks and let everything heal up on it's own. Of course me being me, I had to know how big the incision is on my belly - out comes the measuring tape....a whopping 20 inches from hip to hip... holy crap.

After any abdominal surgery you are required to wear an "ab binder" (it's comparable to a Velcro corset) to keep everything in place and to keep the swelling down... oh did I mention the amount of swelling …. breast, chest, armpit and belly... phhff just a bit.

The binder I have to wear for 6 weeks ALL THE TIME....I'm only at week 3 and I've already asked the doctor how much longer.


Week 3, I've been out of the house a couple times now... with all my drivers at the wheel. It felt good to be out and about, even if it was to appointments in London and Sarnia... including at CT scan where I had to drink the wonderful "dirty pool water" drink prior... (I'm gagging just thinking of it).

I've managed to excel at walking, sitting up, getting in and out of bed, showering, and of course those stairs...like I said it all seems like just yesterday I was in the operating room, but it also feels so long ago with how great I am feeling.


I've had two check ups with the plastic surgeon in London, and he is so pleased with how everything turned out and is healing up...those are such good words to hear... I'm very happy with everything.

Even though I have some pretty big scars that won't ever go away, I made it through and the tumour is gone. Keep on keeping on, that's what I'm going to keep telling myself.


Positive Note: A friend told me "behind every scar is a story" - and my oh my do I not have a book for you.





1,638 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page