top of page
  • Writer's pictureKrista

The Power of Social Media

Updated: Sep 16, 2018

Just like the title says - social media has become the way of the world. The fastest way to get information out there.

When I officially posted my blog for the world to see on Sept 3rd 2018, I was so scared. I've travelled across the world alone, seen bombs flying over Syria, I've even jumped out a plane; but this... this was the scariest thing I have ever done. It took all the courage inside of me, to open up and let everyone in. But I did it.

As I sat at my computer staring at the screen thinking what I should write, how I needed to post the blog, I trembled inside and out. I was very emotional and I was second guessing what I was about to do.

I'm not one to divulge information when not needed too, I'm not one to seek attention, and I'm definitely not one share my "problems" over social media. This was big for me.

I wanted to be clear that everyone knew why I was doing it through Facebook and why it took me so long to say anything at all.

When I hit that share button on Facebook, the tears started to stream down my face, I couldn't stop, I went into panic mode. What did I just do? Why did I just do that? What's going to happen next? I regretted it immediately.

I sat there overwhelmed with my mascara running down my face staring at the computer screen. All I heard was; ding, ding, ding, ding...…. I didn't want to look.

I turned off my computer, I turned off my phone and went to bed.


I couldn't believe it; I turned on my phone the next morning, I had over a 100 notifications, multiple texts and messages. I needed to run away. I'll be honest with you, I wasn't ready to deal with what was on the other end; fear of the unknown, fear of what was waiting for me to read, fear of how it was going to be accepted.


It wasn't until Tuesday evening, I finally manned up and turned on the computer, turned back on my phone and finally looked at Facebook, my blog and all the messages.


I was completely wrong.


I have never felt so loved in all my life by family, friends and total strangers. Everything was positive, not a bad thing was to be had.

I read every comment and was blown away by the words, the thoughts and the prayers that people were giving me. Happy tears this time.

My blog had a great response and I had a massive amount of shares on my post, my blog!

All I wanted was that, and all of you did it!! I want to thank you each and everyone of you personally. I can't explain why I was so scared, but believe me I was, however all of you took that fear away in a heartbeat.

I'll never be able to thank all of you enough for doing that for me.

There are days when you think to yourself, what can I do to help...I'm just "me"? Then the answer becomes clear, it's not just me, it's "us".


Thank you, thank you, thank you.

xoxo


Positive Note: I have all of you. I have more support than anyone could ever ask for.




466 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page